March 25, 2019 – A Brief Departure

Dear Readers:

Please forgive this departure from my normally bike-centric posts (with some meditative thrown in.) However, I feel that with the release of the Mueller report, the following is necessary.

Dear Democrats:

Let me start by saying that I am NOT a supporter of Donald Trump. His election to the highest post in the land threatens the well-being of our nation. That being said, please consider the following advice:

First, last week Robert Mueller released his much anticipated report on Russian interference in the 2016 election and possible collusion of the Trump campaign  with that interference. According to the Attorney General, the report (not yet made public) states that there was no collusion. Further, the AG feels that there is insufficient evidence to support charging Trump with obstruction of justice. In typical fashion, Trump (and his lead propagandist, Sarah Sanders) declare it a “complete exoneration,” in spite of the report saying specifically that it did not exonerate Trump of obstruction.

In response, the Democratic leadership has been shaking swords and rattling cages that there WAS collusion. Other than pushing for the public release of the report, I urge you to focus on fixing those things that made the election of Trump possible, on correcting those things that he is breaking, and on moving forward on the issues that matter most to the health of our nation. If you continue to push on the collusion aspect, you risk making it the “Hillary’s emails” of the next election.

Which brings up my second concert: currently, there are seven declared Democrat candidates for President in 2020, with at least one more expected to declare. This does not include the independent run of Howard Schultz who is actively running hoping to draw from the Democrat voters. I am concerned because this is shaping up to look like the Republicans in 2016, where there were two “tables” for debates and coverage. I would urge all of those who have declared to put aside their egos, look hard at the other declared candidates and find a way to consolidate. I’d hate to see the party splinter, turn off voters, and either lose the White House again or lead to the election of Schultz (who looks like a populist to me.) And, please, DO NOT MAKE THE SAME MISTAKES AS 2016. Don’t let the DNC pick their candidate to support and help under the table. Hold them accountable!

That’s it. Just two things that I feel could help in 2020. Listen if you will, ignore if you must, but I doubt I’m the only one thinking this way.

 

Leave a comment